The weekend after the 18th Annual Dorado Shoot Out, Hotel Palmas De Cortez hosted the 3rd Annual Ladies Only Fishing Tournament. This tournament was a two day fishing tournament where teams made up of only women competed to see who could accumulate the most points. Points could be earned on almost all the game fish in the East Cape including catch & released billfish, roosters, dorado, tuna, wahoo and more. There were also optional cash jackpots of $300 for both the heaviest tuna and heaviest dorado.


This year the Ladies Only Tournament champs were Team J&B with anglers Jodi Vanderpool, Jennifer Salois and Katherine Salois. The ladies jumped out to an early lead with an epic first day which scored them 1,000 pts. by landing billfish, tuna and dorado. However, they could only land one billfish on day two, but it was just enough to hold off second place & Beyond, who fell just 100 points short. Team & Beyond anglers Denise Fyfe, Stacy Corporan, Ericka Chadelein and Megan Whitmore scored a total of 1,100 pts. to take second place. Third place when to Team Girl Power Fishing with anglers Tiffany Sargis, Kim Eagan, Amanda McQueen and Alana Logie. Team Girl Power Fishing fished on the cruiser Marlintini and accumulated 900 pts. over the two day tournament.


The big money this year was in the two jackpots, which combined paid out over $10,000usd. This year the biggest tuna jackpot went to Team Girl Power Fishing who one the jackpot with a 19 lbs. yellowfin tuna. The team took home $4,845usd.


This year’s biggest dorado jackpot went to Team Encantadas with anglers Sheila Clifton, Judith Ruiz, Jacqueline Meza and Leticia Cota. The team took home $5,610usd. for their 53 lbs. bull dorado.


Congratulations to the first place Team J&B! second place team & Beyond and third place Team Girl Power Fishing. Thanks to all of the sponsors for the tremendous support, to Angler Chronicles for coming down to film the tournament and to all the participants who made this a perfect Ladies Only Tournament! Next year’s tournament will be held on July 21st & 22nd.   For more information on the Ladies Only Tournament please visit our website at




























comments powered by Disqus

Web Special